Official Ballot Qualifiers For Sept. 12 Democratic Primary

It’s now official, Democratic primaries will take place September 12 in 9 of 10 City Council districts. On Wednesday Democratic Registrar Santa Ayala submitted to the Town Clerk’s Office the certified petitions of qualified challengers. Elections officials had spent the past week reviewing the petition sheet signatures of candidates following last Wednesday’s 4 p.m. deadline submission.

Ten other petitioning candidates for school board, city sheriff and City Council failed to meet the required number of certified signatures. Absentee ballots, key to so many races in the city, will be available next week from the Town Clerk’s Office.

Here’s how it breaks down, the first two candidates are endorsed running on Line A.

130: Scott Burns and Rowan Kane; Line B, Christina Smith and Pete Spain.

131: Jack Banta and Denese Taylor-Moye; Line B, Jorge Cruz.

132: Evette Brantley and Rolanda Smith; Line B, Marcus Brown and Kyle Langan.

133: Jeanette Herron and Michael DeFilippo; Line B, Bob Keeley and Anne Pappas Phillips.

135: Rosalina Christy and Darrett Evans Moss; Line B, Mary McBride-Lee and Richard Salter.

136: Alfredo Castillo and Maria Zambrano-Viggiano; Line B, Joe Casco.

137: Aidee Nieves and Maria Valle; Line B, Hector Diaz and Milta Feliciano.

138: Timothy Bassey and Michele Small; Line B, Anthony Paoletto and Nessah Smith; Line C, Karen Jackson and Samia Suliman.

139: Eneida Martinez and James Holloway; Line B, Ernie Newton, Line C, Wanda Simmons.

The two City Council candidates with the most votes in each district go on to the general election.



  1. It’s encouraging to see primaries in 9 out of 10 CC districts. This is how people reclaim and begin to own their government and to claim ownership of their time while living in this city called Bridgeport. It is not the answer to all our challenges but it is a good part of a beginning.


Leave a Reply